Month 1: Learning Curves

I am using prefolds with no cover as accident management. I’ve  missed a lot of pee and poos, but I am also learning how to co-sleep and babywear and breastfeed and work part time.  It’s a lot to learn by yourself with no prior hands-on experience.    Newborns also go frequently and I do have successes.   I miss, yes, but I  also caught many pees and a good number of poos as the baby would always fart first.      Since there is no night and day in the world of the newborn, I make no distinction as to day and night opportunities.

I had my first changing-a-diaper-on-your-lap-in-the-car situation and I knew that as soon as air hit baby bottom she decided to let loose the bowels of doom.    Form in your mind’s-eye this scene:   Cold Snap in October.   Location: The City Clerk parking lot while your husband goes inside to arrange for a birth certificate.  The vehicle: a Jeep Liberty with seats so slanted there is a Bermuda Triangle there where Lost things go.  The situation:  A crying newborn who is irate that it is not in its natural habitat — the Bosoms of Warm Delight, Baby Valhalla.    Alien creature is not soothed by dulcet tones, coos, music or offers of fresh milk from the perpetual fountains.   Mommy then realizes it’s a wet diaper situation and manages to situate herself for a cramped lap change.  All goes well until the baby falls silent with bottom exposed.  Silence is the only warning.  Then like the swelling of yellow magma it came welling out and copious.  Akk!  Wait!   Crap!   No, don’t crap!   Trapped.     4 pre-folds,  6 cloth wipes. and 1 nursing later — Daddy appears.   His story about being asked for a newborn’s ID card is trumped.
Φ______________________________________________________________Φ

I often left the baby diaper-less when I was home alone upon waking for the day and was downstairs.   Usually, I just let the baby pee in the bathroom sink because it was easier to cradle her and take care of my business as well.   If I didn’t want to get up or was upstairs, I held her over a plastic Chinese take-out container and put the lid on.   Newborns don’t have large pees so it didn’t need to be emptied for a while.   Naked newborn baby was my preferred state.   I just couldn’t get enough of skin to skin or sniffing that wonderful newborn head–clothes were just a hindrance.   I spent the first week sleeping downstairs on a futon mattress on the floor.  Stairs were too time consuming and with the bathroom on the first floor, it just made sense.   Once I moved back to our bedroom, we hibernated in bed until I went to work in the evenings — sleeping whenever I could.  While in our bed, there was less diaper free time and more cover-less prefold which  was easy to change.    Besides, even the extra small diaper covers I had were too big.    Of course, I didn’t have to bother to try EC at all at this stage, but I wanted to use this time to ease into it.   When you don’t grow up with the practice you lack the skills, so I wanted to compensate by giving myself more time to grow with it and have it become a natural part of our day.   I did a lot of reading on natural infant hygiene beforehand and had I had a flexible plan in mind for dealing with the challenges faced by modern mothers re-discovering this lost art just as for baby wearing, co-sleeping, and breastfeeding.  

Posted on October 21, 2009, in Babies, Parenting, Potty Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

