Month 2: Path to a Diaper Free Baby

There were a couple of weeks that it seemed that I missed every single one and went through all my diapers!    I accepted that.  This isn’t about perfection!   I am learning.       Baby has clear signals of having a soiled diaper and Daddy knows those better than I do.   She intensely dislikes being soiled!  Sometimes we notice fussing and a dry diaper, only to discover a few minutes later that she was wet.   The fussing was apparently a potty signal.  Baby understands “psss” signal and “wait” (her position, my tone and body language not the word itself) and can wait to go or halts very briefly going until we rush to the potty cup or bathroom as long as involuntary threshold hasn’t been reached.   I’m still trying to learn her signals, and I rely on timing a lot.  She goes frequently in the morning and especially after naps.  She doesn’t go while nursing so I often breastfeed her nekkid as a jay bird.

_______________________________________________________________

There was a lot to learn and communicate.   Often we had to run the gamut of needs before we figure out the solution.   Hungry?   Too hot?  Too Cold?  Bored?  Sleepy?   Potty?   Oops, wet!  And that’s inevitably the misses happened.       For a time it seemed like it just wasn’t working so we just resigned ourselves to following the change-the-diaper pattern and didn’t try.    It’s not that this is hard…but we live in a diapering culture.  THAT is part of our psyche.  It is what we know, what we are comfortable with, and what we are familiar with.   The process, the smell, the routine.    Both of us had siblings that we diapered — well, at least I changed a lot of diapers.  I’m sure my husband avoided that chore as much as possible.   I did know one thing, I felt absolutely horrible if I forgot to change a diaper right away and it happened a couple of times!   To see her poor kibbles and bits red after a mistake like that encouraged me to get back on track.   Ultimately, doing this was for her benefit and the benefits to us were secondary.     Yes, using flats and prefold cloth diapers were economical and good for the Earth — but also healthier for her.   No chemical outgassing and smell from disposable diapers (which make me sneeze or cough even just walking through the diaper aisle in the store), no mystery blue chemicals, no chemical induced rashes and thus no need for diaper creams or pastes, and all waste goes into the sewer where it belongs.   I diapered two siblings so I’ve been there and done that and, “No sir.  I don’t like it.”

Posted on November 21, 2009, in Babies, Parenting, Potty Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

