Month 3: Traveling and Night Pottying

Nights are dry half the time now that my baby is three months old.   Wow!  That’s not to say that she didn’t pee all night every night…it was more that whenever she awoke and I had to feed her and go to the bathroom myself — I just let her go in a potty tupperware cup while in bed or over the sink if I’m up.  Anything I don’t have to scrape off her bits in the middle of the night is fine by me!     Some nights were just a marathon of misses and I don’t like those at all.    Since we co-sleep and breastfeed, all I have to do is sit up in the dark, let her do her business in the container, and lie back down, I can easily fall back to sleep hardly disturbed in total darkness.   BLISS!  It is an eye opener when a diaper change is needed.    I’ve gotten good at changing a wet diaper in the dark (our 4-in-1 crib is side-carred so it hold all my supplies), but sometimes I need the light especially if there is a poo.   By the time I’m done, I’m wide awake.   If I’m very lucky the baby hasn’t lost her mind from being disturbed from a fumbling parent with cold hands.

I’m not totally alone in trying to go all-in and potty the baby at night too.   There are many EC comrades out there.

My husband has been really great about it.  I am not sure if he is as excited about it as I am but he does try to take her potty when I am at work in the evenings.   He also knows immediately if she is wet.  He’s much better at that than I am.

We had to make an unexpected and sad trip out of state last month near Thanksgiving.   My husband’s maternal grandfather passed away.   I didn’t want him to go alone and though it might seem awkward to bring a baby, I think people also appreciate the hope and comfort new life brings.  And in the end it was worth it and it brought my husband and his family comfort.

Traveling with an infant is a challenge and we learned a lesson or three.  In any case, during our 14 hour trip by car to Ohio, I was suprised stunned gobsmacked that during a rest stop bathroom break she hadn’t wet her diaper even though she’d been awake for a little while in the car seat.   She hadn’t pooped in a few days and we were scared.   Over the days our conversations sometimes went, “Has there been deployment?”   “Not yet. ”    “Oh, dear.”     Followed by a cringe and a plea to the baby to go after the hand off.      I decided to pee her over the toilet even though I didn’t expect anything.  I held her in a potty position in my arms and she immediately went quite a lot.  As I lifted her prepared to go, she started to whine and fuss.   I decided to put her back in potty position thinking that maybe she hadn’t finished urinating, but to my surprise she had a poo that seemed to go on forever!    I was so thankful because that would have been an ugly mess to clean up had she gone in her car seat!   We were gone so long my husband wondered where we were.   I was so excited, but I think he was just relieved to not have a ticking poop bomb anymore.   While away for that week, I peed her successfully all night and in the mornings while there. Though days and evenings where more difficult hit and misses.

I still don’t talk to people much about EC as it is kind of awkward and I’m shy about it — I don’t know why!    I don’t tell people what I am doing when I take the baby to the bathroom, but if they happen to inquire I or my husband answer and they always get a weird, surprised look on their faces.   I know they think I’m kooky.  Cloth diapers are already out there — but a baby who pees on cue is beyond fathom.     But that’s okay.  I know this can be done!  It’s not a lot of investment of time when you compare it too how long it takes to clean poop out of nooks and crannies.  It does require attention and commitment.    I do about 2-3 loads of diapers a week, but I change her immediately even for a minor dampness and even though I miss more pees, I catch almost all the poos–and just that makes it worth it.     Taking cloth diapers on and off is a pain but I don’t feel confident in losing them yet.

_______________________________________________________________

The prefolds at night were okay, but becoming a nuisance.  I had done some diaper free nights with towels and homemade blanket pads to protect the bed but growth spurts were exhausting and I often fell back to sleep before pottying the baby.

Posted on December 21, 2009, in Babies, Parenting, Potty Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

