Month 5: We Have Mobility

Peeing in a Chinese Takeout Container

Belly scooting and pulling!  Our wood floor is nicely buffed as a bonus.

I’ve got much more confidence and I started more naked time during the day and we began to sync up again.   Hats off to those who have done diaper free from day 1.  It’s a challenge to let go!  Cultural conditioning is no joke and not easy to over come.

We have had a lot of misses, but I catch far more than I miss most days! Some days we have zero success.    Nights are mostly dry again.  I continue the trend of giving her a potty break whenever I go to the bathroom myself and after waking.    Also since sitting is under control, using the Bjorn potty is preferred over the small tupperware cup.  We’ve gotten quite good at night pottying while she is still latched and nursing.    I shift her from my arm to my chest, remove her prefold, put the Bjorn between my legs, set her on it holding her thighs still facing me.  She happily does her wee and we lie back down.   I don’t always put on the prefold again.  When I do I Snappi it from the back.    I’ve come to like her sleeping on my chest and she is big enough to slide right or left into one of my arm pits.   At around 3 months she learned to re-latch on her own so that’s helpful too.

Baby signs!   I’ve started using the baby sign or “toilet” as well as the “psss” sound and verbally saying “Pee-pee (poo-poo) potty?”     I added the sign because she’ll be able to use the sign long before she can say the worse.  I know she can’t copy it yet, but she is watching and taking it all in and eventually she’ll start mimicry.

_______________________________________________________________

I found that nursing her helped her to relax when she was over excited or restless.   Especially if I knew she had to go but was not wanting to right then offering to nurse got her immediate acquiescence.     I’ve got two parenting tools at the ready and by gum I’m not afraid to use them to get what I want!  But often she was happy to face outward if she was well supported.  As she gets heavier, her preferences for different holds is changing.

Posted on February 21, 2010, in Babies, Parenting, Potty Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

