Month 6: Crawl

I didn’t think crawling would happen so fast.  It was crude at first but rapidly became very efficient. Baby will sometimes crawl to potty or say ‘upup’ (at least that’s what it sounds like to us.  It is a crude sound–a pre-word vocalization)when she wants to go. Or repeatedly pulls on the velcro tabs of her cloth diaper cover or tug at the snappi.   She will also wiggle and contort to get down if being held if she needs to potty.  If the need is urgent she has a special ear piercing scream that Daddy recognizes as a potty request before I do.   Daddy has had good progress with pottying her and often suggests a potty break if I get distracted.  If she has wet in her diaper she will crawl over and squirm mimicing trying to “get away”.  There are also times where she doesn’t signal at all–at least not so obviously.   She clearly enjoys diaperless time — it gives her more freedom of movement and makes it much easier for her to sit, roll, crawl, and pull up without all that fabric between her legs.    I have hardly any diaper laundry!  I’m down to one small load a week and not because I’m out of diapers, but because any longer and I’d ruin the diapers if I didn’t wash them!  No more belly-time pees either!

_______________________________________________________________

I’d gotten a good handle on not overly using diapers, but really wished I had done away with them at this stage. We were ready, but I lacked the confidence to let go of that crutch.   She’d be diaper free from morning until evening most days unless we were out on errands.   Had I had training pants at the ready I may have started using them and that would have helped with.   Changing diapers really was a pain for us both.   No matter how pretty the cover, we were both happier without them.

Posted on March 21, 2010, in Babies, potty, Potty Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

