Month 24: Woulda Coulda Shoulda

Just a quick post on hindsight.    I am hoping to use what I’ve learned in the past two years to help me do it all again with Bairn 2.   I can’t mimic a lifetime of knowledge gleaned from my culture, but I’ve done my best to pedal up that learning curve.   Hopefully, sharing of knowledge can give someone just starting the process a little boost or ideas.

  • Had I been smart thoughtful I would have converted my favorite onesies with just a simple pair of scissors:   Onesie Conversion
  • Had I known this existed and was probably available at a local Home Depot, I would have bought one a year ago! Thank you to the blog TumbleWee for the heads up:  Next Step Built in Potty Seat
  • I just love multi-taskers!  Here is a 3-in-1 potty from Europe. If it was sold in the states I’d own two maybe three.    Dot Pot
  • I feel vindicated!  I really want to pick the brain of a person who grew up immersed in pottying infants as a daily matter.  This is the next best thing!   A subscriber to my blog shared one of my posts (Thank you!)  and the pingback led me to this wonderful read on EC from China’s persepctive:   Born Ready Website  (China’s View)
  • I got a very good deal on discontinued Babylegs, but Babyleg legwarmers made from a dollar store scarf?  Who knew?:  Sew Babylegs from a Stretchy Scarf
  • And Good Golly Miss Molly adult knee socks are more versatile than I ever thought:   Babylegs from Socks Sew Version AND No-Sew Verson
  • Making split crotch pants was more work that I would want to do unless in one of my Crazy Crafting Episodes, but there is one for the sewers out there:    Three Seam Split Crotch Pants with Free Pattern   ETA 10/5  (This blogger makes a more Fitted Split Crotch Pant)
  • This little item, while not an essential, would be perfect for those people who frequent places with no facilities at all and/or who are not comfortable with dumping pee outside if they can help it and don’t want to use disposable potty bags and have to put poo in the trash:   My Carry Potty
  • I wish I had ordered these from day 1.  Finding small undies and trainers when I needed them was near to impossible.   Thanks pull-ups for hogging the market and killing in-store sales of cotton underpants for the under 1 and under 2 crowd:   Tiny Undies at the ECStore. (these are underwear not training pants!)
  • Red Gingham Disposable Table Covers.   Remember these picnic staples?   Who says it just has to be for tables right?   Looks like a great carpet protector to me for diaper free crawlers and for Baby Led Solids/Weaning food catchers.   I bet they are available at a dollar store.   Wipe off to clean.      They may need to be aired out for a bit though…outgassing.
About Laissez Faire

I am 41, married with two children, and two cats. Writing is my hobby, and learning and teaching my passions. Books! It used to be that I could devour several books a week when I had the time. I am usually too tired to stray awake these days with two kids. Currently my brain and energy levels have steered me to casual games and some inconsistent blogging.

Posted on September 25, 2011, in Babies, IPT, potty, Potty Training, Potty Training, Toddlers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. With potty training on our horizon, I am glad to have stumbled upon your blog! Thanks for commenting on mine so that I could find you, :) Bookmarked!

  2. Thank you for sharing about the onsie conversion! That is brilliant! Funny how somethings don’t even cross our minds- I was just trying one on today and was sad it was going to the bag- not anymore- thanks to you! (it said I heart mommy) ;)

  3. Annaliese Smith-Platts

    Thanks for the link up :-) This is an excellent post btw!

  4. At one point I cut off the bottom of a onesie, but then I never got around to finishing it off. I end up just tucking in the onesie w/o buttoning it, and the extra fabric keeps my little guy’s pants up (w/o a diaper his pants tend to be baggy).

    I got one of those potty seats on clearance at Target for, like, $4 or something. Fine for my daughter, but for little boys who can’t aim – ugh. The pee was always either going *above* the seat and spraying everywhere, or streaming between the seat and the base, so it would stream down the toilet bowl. I am ALWAYS cleaning up pee. *sigh* I love the idea, but maybe need to look for a different design. Those Dot potties look pretty cool.

    EC undies are expensive, and I was lucky to find some small undies on Diaperswappers.com. If you get a bigger size than you think you’ll need it will be easier for the little ones to push them down.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

