Month 25: Don’t Knock It Until You Try It

On my facebook diaper free group this morning a member posted this link about Alicia Silverstone using EC (Celebrity Schoop:  Alicia Silverstone Dabbles in Elimination Communication).     I am excited to see celebrities like Mayim Bialik and Gisele taking an interest in subject like this because that means, just like breastfeeding, more and more people are talking about it.    When such important knowledge and wisdom is nearly eradicated, it takes time for it to re-spread through the common knowledge base.     The Internet certainly is a facilitator of the process connecting scattered like-minds easily and quickly getting information out there.

There is still a lot of knee jerk negativity to the subject!   It just shows just how deeply entrenched the US (and even some other developed countries) is in the diaper culture.       Take a look at the cloth diaper industry; it wasn’t until a cloth diaper looked like a disposable — hour glass shape, velcro tabs, one piece — that it took off and became much more common.    That is funny considering that Disposable diapers were trying to copy the folds of great-great-great grandma’s old fashioned flats!     And now I am beginning to see a resurgence of appreciation for simplicity (pre-folds, flats, covers, basic fitteds) and what makes cloth so economical, unique, and superior to begin with as they move away from copying disposables and instead focusing on the strengths that disposables can never have.

I couldn’t help but respond to some of the comments on the article.

As the saying goes, “Don’t knock it until you try it”.

Someone in the responses said “give the poor kid a break!”     Honestly, give them a break over what (except a break over having poop smeared on their bottoms)?    It’s going to the bathroom not bungee jumping!   The average age of potty training in the US has risen to 3 years old and rising!   And that’s only in the last 1 or 2 generations.      EC isn’t new, it’s just lost knowledge.

I’ve seen diaper users WATCH their babies pee and and poop and *know* it, and comment on it  (even joke about the “poop face” before the poop even starts)  and wait to take care of it.    An ECer on the other hand sees the signals or requests prior to the act, and takes the baby or toddler to the proper place before it is too late.      It’s all the same skill, just a totally different response to the situation.

It can be done 24 hours a day, it can be done by working mothers, it can be done by anyone, and you do not have to be a slave to the bathroom — just aware of where there are.   EC’d babies have amazing control and capacity.    Late training isn’t exactly a cake walk for the majority of people, so nothing is “saved” or made “easier” by waiting.

Another responder said, “I am not going to be the type of parent that stares at my kids faces 24/7 to know the signs or carry a potty seat around with me wherever I go. ”           People carry around a diaper bag full of diapers, wipes, toys, and change of clothes, but carrying a small seat insert to use in a public bathroom for a toddler is too much of a hassle!?     Those who were commenting so negatively are commenting on what they are imagining must be the process, instead of commenting based on at least reading the basics about it.

_______________________________________________________________

Mayim Bialik has used the diaper free method on her sons Miles, 6, and Frederick, 3.

About Laissez Faire

I am 41...42...43, married with two children, and two cats. Writing is my hobby, and learning and teaching my passions. Books! It used to be that I could devour several books a week when I had the time. I am usually too tired to stray awake these days with two kids. Currently my brain and energy levels have steered me to casual games and some inconsistent blogging.

Posted on November 2, 2011, in Parenting, Potty Training, Toddlers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Can you write a post on your suggestions for potty training a nine month year old? I had considered doing it from birth but decided it might be too much as I started working again after just a few weeks of giving birth. But things are a bit calmer now and I’d like to give it a go. Any advice appreciated, thank you 🙂

    • Hi! I can make that my next post. There is a link for “EC for late starters” in the links on the right.
      I would start with the easy timing: after waking up in the AM, after naps, before going to bed at night. And every time you go, take your LO to go too. And if there is a poop schedule that can be easy to catch.

  2. When do you introduce EC? My baby is 13 months old and just started signing. Milk, more and all done. I am teaching more signs but I am trying to ready her body language for “making a diaper!”

  3. It’s exciting that EC is becoming more main stream.

    I have been absolutely blown away by my LO’s response. Even though we’ve only been trying for a few weeks I can tell that he holds it until I put him on the potty (when he can). Especially #2. I don’t think I’ll get too many negative comments since I already cloth diaper which puts me in the crunchy category anyway. 🙂

    I agree about people commenting on something they haven’t tried or aren’t too familiar with – the comments I got about cloth diapering were not very friendly at first.

Leave a Reply

